Marlborough Street has been overlooked for many years with the closeby and adjacent O’Connell street taking precedence for Tourists .
The street is named after first Duke of Marlborough and has seen major improvements in the past year.
The picturesque new Rosie Hackett Bridge, recently finished, has added greatly to the atmosphere at the southern end of the street. The LUAS tram line is now with Red and Green tram lines intersecting at the the Marlborough-Abbey Streets junction. As well as the Tara Street DART station close by, this part of Dublin is set to become the most highly connected parts of the city centre.
In the late 19th century the street for a time was called Tyrone Street after Tyrone House. The lower part of the street was at different times called Union Lane, Ferryboat Lane, and Union Street.
One of the principal buildings on this street is St Mary’s Pro-Cathedral, designed by John Sweetman, and completed in 1825. Other buildings include offices of the Department of Education and Skills.You can see these buildings in the pictures below.